ACU Foundation Board

Kimberly Bellissimo

Kimberly Bellissimo is the co-founder, President and CEO of Base Connect, a direct mail fundraising company that helps federal and state conservative candidates, conservative nonprofit advocacy organizations and political action committees, as well as patriotic and conservative leaning charitable organizations.

José Cárdenas

Mr. José R. Cárdenas has nearly thirty years of experience in the Washington political process and inter-American relations. He has served in senior positions in the U.S. Department of State, the National Security Council, and the U.S. Agency for International Development, where he served as Acting Assistant Administrator for Latin America and the Caribbean and oversaw nearly $1 billion in U.S. development assistance to the region. He has served as a Senior Advisor to the Secretary General of the Organization of American States and as a Senior Professional Staff Member of U.S. Senate Foreign Relations Committee.

Amy Noone Frederick


Amy Noone Frederick is President of the 60 Plus Association and represents the interests of senior citizens nationally, with a focus on healthcare, energy, and tax issues. She is on the Board of Directors of the ACU Foundation and the National Foundation for Women Legislators. Amy is a graduate of Franklin and Marshall College in Lancaster, Pennsylvania with a degree in government.

Jonathan Garthwaite

Jonathan Garthwaite is VP & General Manager of Townhall Media which encompasses,,,,, and print magazine, Townhall Magazine. Garthwaite joined Townhall in 1995, taking over as Editor-in-chief in 1998. Garthwaite was appointed General Manager in 2009 after being acquired by Salem Communications. was acquired in 2010, in 2013 and HumanEvents/RedState in 2014. Townhall Media is read by nearly 16 million unique readers each month.Prior to, Garthwaite was Director of Online Communications at The Heritage Foundation, built the first website for the Leadership Institute as an intern and also interned in the Colorado State General Assembly. Garthwaite received his B.S. from Colorado State University. He can be followed at @JonGarthwaite.

Charlie Gerow

Charlie Gerow serves on the Board of Directors of the ACU . Charlie is CEO of Quantum Communications, a public relations and issue advocacy firm. Recently named to the prestigious “Influencers 500″ by Campaigns and Elections, Charlie has also been selected as one of the 50 most influential Pennsylvania Republicans and one of the Top Ten Political Consultants in Pennsylvania. Charlie also serves on the Board of the Freedom’s Foundation at Valley Forge and the American Swiss Foundation. A graduate of the Villanova University School of Law, Charlie began his career on the campaign staff of President Ronald Reagan.

Millie Hallow

ACU Foundation Vice Chairman

Millie Hallow is the Co-Chair of CPAC 2014 and is the Managing Director, Executive Operations at the National Rifle Association. She is also a Board Member of the National Foundation of Women Legislators. She formerly served as Deputy Director and Special Consultant for the Cultural Alliance of Greater Washington and appointed the Executive Director of the D.C. Commission on the Arts and Humanities and the Mayor’s Advisor for Cultural Affairs.

Colin A. Hanna

Colin Hanna is President of Let Freedom Ring USA, Inc., a non-profit public policy organization committed to promoting Constitutional government, economic freedom and traditional values. Colin is a former County Commissioner (Chester County, PA), CBS sales executive, advertising agency president, and started and sold several small businesses. He is a U.S. Navy veteran and has appeared on Hannity, Megyn Kelly, The Situation Room, Tucker Carlson, Fox & Friends, Special Report, Lou Dobbs Report and a variety of other television and radio shows. He is also Chairman of Coalitions for America, the organization that sponsors The Weyrich Lunch and the Weyrich Awards Dinner.

The Hon. Van D. Hipp, Jr.


The Honorable Van Hipp Jr. is Chairman of American Defense International, Inc. (ADI), a Washington, D.C. based consulting firm specializing in government affairs, business development and public relations. A former Chairman of the South Carolina Republican Party, Hipp served as a member of the Presidential Electoral College, and introduced Newt Gingrich at the 1988 Republican National Convention. In his capacity as Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Army (Reserve Forces and Mobilization), he served as the Army Secretariat’s “point man” for the successful mobilization, and then demobilization, of the Army’s reserve forces for Operation Desert Shield/Storm. Hipp was also named by then-Secretary of Defense Dick Cheney as Principal Deputy General Counsel of the Navy. Hipp is a veteran of the U.S. Army and served on active duty in both Operation Desert Storm and Operation Restore Democracy.

Niger Innis

Niger Innis currently serves as the National Spokesman for the C ongress of Racial Equality (CORE) and is the Chairman of the 3 million member

Willes Lee

Willes Lee is the Hawaii Republican Assembly National Director, National Federation of Republican Assemblies Pacific Region Vice President and a former Hawaii Republican Party Chairman. He is a U.S. Military Academy graduate. Lee is a retired Army officer and airborne Ranger with degrees in engineering and public administration.

Carolyn D. Meadows

Carolyn Meadows is a member of The ACU and The ACUF Boards, Benefactor and Board of Directors member of the National Rifle Association and serves on the Legislative Policy Committee, Membership Committee, Public Affairs Committee, Board of Trustees of NRA Foundation, and Site Selection Committee, Governor’s appointee as Chairman of the Stone Mountain Board of Directors, Republicans Overseas Advisory Board, Council on National Policy Board, former three-term Georgia Republican National Committeewoman.

Randy Neugebauer

Randy Neugebauer proudly represents the 19th Congressional District of Texas, which stretches across 29 counties in West Texas and the Big Country.

After graduating from

Matt Schlapp


On June 19, 2014 the board of the American Conservative Union unanimously voted to elect Matt Schlapp as the ninth Chairman of the nation’s oldest and largest conservative grassroots organization. From 2001 to 2005, Schlapp served as President Bush’s political director during the re-election and previously as his deputy political director. During the 2000 presidential campaign he was a Regional Political Director with oversight of Missouri, Arkansas, Iowa, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Kansas, and Oklahoma.

Thomas S. Winter

Executive Committee Member

Thomas Winter has for more than four decades been the guiding force behind Human Events, the national conservative weekly that was Ronald Reagan’s favorite publication. He became the Edi­tor in 1964, Co-owner and President in 1966, and assumed the title of Editor-in-Chief in 1996. He is now editor in chief emeritus of He also serves as Treasurer of the Conservative Vic­tory Fund and is First Vice Chairman of the ACU.

Policy Center Switcher

ACU Ratings

The ACU tracks a wide range of issues before Congress to determine which issues and votes serve as a dividing line to help those members of U.S. House and Senate who protect liberty as a conservative and those who are truly liberal. CLICK HERE FOR RATINGS
The ACU Foundation seeks to educate the next generation of conservative leaders by providing them the intellectual tools necessary to learn about the conservative movement, its leaders, its leading organization and especially its principles.

1331 H St NW Suite 500
Washington, DC 20005
Ph: (202) 347-9388 | Fx: (202) 347-9389